Jens Lekman – I Know What Love Isn’t

jens.11183v3

  • Artist: Jens Lekman
  • Released: 2012 on Secretly Canadian Records
  • Genre: Indie Pop

Long story short – I forgot to take my music player to work today, and this was the only album I had on my phone. Good to make back-up plans in advance, no? It also turned out that I hadn’t listened to it yet, which is a major no-no because I like listening to familiar, well-worn albums to warm myself up. Was my Thursday morning going to be ruined?

Fuck no. Part of me stubbornly hangs on to sunny optimism, so I shrug.

I tentatively start playing it…and my niggling grouse instantly vanishes. The fairy-esque piano intro of Every Little Hair Knows Your Name makes everything right again. My Thursday morning isn’t ruined after all.

I am immediately enchanted by Erica America; by the gorgeous layers of lovingly plucked Spanish guitar lines, sprightly piano, swooning female vocal and Jens Lekman’s introspective voice intertwining seamlessly with each other. This is music meant for lazy Sunday mornings, where you wait for a cuppa at the swanky coffee shop, battering away at your iPad in the queue.  Jens Lekman sings about love, girls and seemingly random things that hint at much more beneath the surface. It also reminds me strongly of Craft Spells’s second album, but with a more expansive feel. By the time I get to the last song, also confusingly titled Every Little Hair Knows Your Name, the album loops back to Erica America, and I eventually get the chorus stuck in my head. “How natural it actually sounds!” I think, and listen to it some more.

This album managed to surprise me – the minimalist design led me to think that it was a possible electronic project…but they say you can’t judge a book by its cover. Seems like it’s the same with records. Oh well.

Here’s that pleasant earworm I was talking about just now: Erica America!

 

 

 

About cvltyouths

An album a day to keep the ennui away

Leave a Reply

what SISTER RAY says

Reality is for people who are scared of unicorns.

Sableyes

Sabbles woz 'ere

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

postpunkbrazil

Brazilian post-punk bands in the 80s

Zelda Reville

“Luxury is not a necessity to me, but beautiful and good things are.” ― Anaïs Nin

Can You Get to That?

(I want to know) if you can get to that?

ipekseyhanpoyrazkarayel

Asla İdeallerinden Vazgeçme Asla! Never Give Up Your İdeals Never!

Sky Writer

Donna Cunningham's Blog on astrology, healing, and writing.

SongSavers

plowing into the field of music

